First founded in the late 1800’s, the South African Mint is the official mint of the Republic of South Africa and has been providing the country with currency, ever since.  The South African Mint is responsible for minting all coins of the South African rand on behalf of its owner the South African Reserve Bank.  Located in Centurion, Gauteng, the mint manufactures coins for both domestic and international markets

South African Krugerrand

Struck for the first time on 3 July 1967, with the aim of marketing South African gold, this legend in the coin industry was conceived when the concept of a legal tender gold coin linked to the daily gold price was introduced in South Africa.  Both gold and silver coins available.

The effigy of Paul Kruger, the first President of the Zuid Afrikaansche Republiek (ZAR) is depicted on the obverse. The reverse was originally designed and engraved by the famous sculptor, Coert Steynberg, and features one of South Africa’s national animal, a Springbok.

Natura – Paleontology:  The rise of the Dinosaurs

A new chapter in the award-winning Natura series began with the introduction of the palaeontology theme in 2018, in recognition of South Africa’s significance to this field and study of plant and animal fossils.
The first instalment of the palaeontology-themed 24ct gold coins focused on ‘Rise of the dinosaurs – Archosauria, and as a response to popular demand, the South African Mint release the very first silver Natura coin under this theme in 2019.

For 2020, the South African Mint released the second ever silver coin to join the Natura series. This coin also focuses on the ‘Rise of the dinosaurs – Archosauria’ theme and bears the same image as the 2018 1oz 24ct gold coin – the Coelophysis rhodesiensis